Some of the new acquisitions in the year 2001:

Philips (de) Koninck (Amsterdam 1619-1688 Amsterdam)
drawing:
The card players in pen and brown ink with brown and grey wash, monogrammed, 179 x 160 mm (inv. no. 2001-T.5)

Philips Koninck, son of a goldsmith, moved to Rotterdam around 1637 to study with his elder brother Jacob Koninck (1614/15- after 1690). He returned to Amsterdam in about 1641 but it is unclear whether he then actually joined Rembrandt's studio as claimed by Arnold Houbraken. However, his early work certainly demonstrates the influence of the famous painter. Philips Koninck is now primarily known for his landscapes but he also produced portraits and genre pieces.

The drawing acquired by the Fondation Custodia may be described as just such a genre piece. This type of drawing was not yet represented in the collection Frits Lugt. Werner Sumowski has dated the drawing to the early 1660s. It is comparable to similar drawings now in Hamburg, Leiden and St. Petersburg [Sumowski 1324, 1325, 1336]. The subject and the somewhat 'unrefined' style is typical of Koninck. With rapid and angular pen strokes, the artist has created a rather jocular scene showing three men playing cards in an inn. On the left we see two children at play and a barrel, presumably of beer. Such scenes reflect the strong influence of Adriaen Brouwer (1605/06-1638).


Anonymous artist (Dutch, latter half of the seventeenth century)
Portrait of René Descartes (1596-1650) brush and brown ink with brown wash, over a sketch in black chalk, some highlighting in white and partly incised with the stylus for transfer, 171x133 mm (inv. no. 2001-T.21)

For many years, the only indication of the existence of this drawing was to be found in the handwritten inventory of the Delft collector Valerius Röver (1686-1739), which lists a 'Portrait of Descartes, wash in bistre' by Rembrandt. When this portrait came up for auction in mid-2001, a note on the verso allowed its provenance to be traced to the Röver collection.

The drawing bears all the signs of a preparatory sketch for a print. A number of lines have been incised with the stylus for transfer to an engraving plate, while the ornamental border includes a cartouche (also incised) for an inscription. There is indeed a print after this sketch included in an edition of a Dutch translation of Descartes' Principia Pilosophiae of beginselen der wijsgebeerte (Amsterdam 1690). Unfortunately, the name of the designer of the print - certainly not Rembrandt - is not mentionned.

Jean-François Sablet (Morges 1745-1819 Nantes)
drawing:
Fishermen in an Italian landscape during a storm in brush and black ink, grey wash and heightened with white body-colour on blue-gray paper, signed, 410x540 mm (inv. no. 2001-T.25)

Jean-François Sablet moved to Rome in 1791, accompanied by his brother Jacques. Two years later the events in their country prompted them to return to Paris. Jean-François is best known for his portraits, including those of prominent citizens of Nantes, the city which became his home in 1805.

This drawing is thought to date from Sablet's Italian period when he was very much influenced by his brother's work. It is mounted on a page from a book, apparently a ledger, showing the date 1793. There are rather few surviving examples of Sablet's output during this period. The quality of the piece is exceptional compared to most of the artist's other work.
This drawing forms a valuable addition to the collection of late eighteenth- and nineteenth-century French landscape drawings which has been assembled by the Fondation Custodia since the death of Frits Lugt. However, the drawing by Sablet has little in common with later French landscapes, which seeks to offer a more faithful representation of the atmosphere and the scenery observed by the artist. Here, Sablet tries to produce a more theatrical effect, even using greenish paper to this end.


François (Saint) Bonvin (Parijs 1817-1887 Saint-Germain-en-Laye)
Etching "Les instruments de l'eau-forte" 1861, 225 x 148 mm (inv. no. 2001-P.20)
 
François Bonvin is primarily known as a painter but during his career he also made several excursions into the world of the etching. Among the (few) known completed works is a series of six plates, printed by Auguste Delâtre in 1861 with the title Six eaux-fortes, dessinées et gravées par F. Bonvin, peintre. They are of the same style and subject as the artist's paintings, i.e. genre pieces and still-lifes. The title page acquired by the Fondation Custodia represents the instruments used in the etching process: a sheet of paper, the copper plate, bottles of acid, a funnel, the burin and a magnifying glass.

Bonvin produced this series of etchings at a time when this form of art became extremely popular in France, following a period in which the recently invented technique of lithography had been in favour. Bonvin allowed his series to be sold by the publisher Alfred Cadart (1828-1875), whose studio was often the meeting place for a number of prominent engravers including Antoine Vollon (1833-1900), Théodule Ribot (1823-1891), Adolphe Appian (1818-1898) and Félix Bracquemond (1833-1914). In 1862, Cadart founded the Société des Acquafortistes to promote the art of etching. However, Bonvin was never a member of this society. When his series was republished (with four additional plates) in 1871, it appeared in a separate folio.

Bibl.: Henri Béraldi, Les graveurs du XIXe siècle. Guide de l’amateur d’estampes modernes, vol. 2, Paris 1885, p. 164, cat. no 2/1 or 3/1; Gabriel P. Weisberg, Bonvin, Paris 1979, no 349.

Une sélection des nouvelles acquisitions de l'année 2001:

Philips (de) Koninck (Amsterdam 1619-1688 Amsterdam)
un dessin
Les Joueurs de cartes à la plume et encre brune, lavis brun et gris, signé d’un monogramme, 179 x 160 mm (inv. n° 2001-T.5)

Vers 1637, Philips Koninck, fils d’un orfèvre, entre à Rotterdam en apprentissage chez son frère aîné, Jacob Koninck (1614/15- après 1690). On ne sait si, de retour à Amsterdam vers 1641, il devient alors l’élève de Rembrandt comme l’a écrit Arnold Houbraken. Ses œuvres de jeunesse témoignent en tout cas de l’influence du célèbre peintre. De nos jours, Philips Koninck est surtout connu comme paysagiste, mais il a réalisé également des portraits et des scènes de genre.

Le dessin acquis par la Fondation Custodia appartient à cette dernière catégorie. Jusqu’ici la collection n’en possédait aucun exemple. Selon Werner Sumowski, la feuille date du début des années 1660. Elle présente des similitudes avec des dessins de Hambourg, Leyde et Saint-Pétersbourg [Sumowski 1324, 1325, 1336]. Le sujet et le style quelque peu « grossier » sont caractéristiques de Koninck. En traits rapides et onguleux dessinés à la plume et encre brune, l’artiste esquisse une scène quelque peu burlesque représentant trois hommes jouant aux cartes dans une auberge. A gauche, deux enfants s’amusent autour d’un tonneau de bière. Dans les scènes de genre de Koninck, on reconnaît clairement l’influence d’Adriaen Brouwer (1605/06-1638).


D’un artiste anonyme (Pays-Bas, deuxième moitié du XVIIe siècle)
Un Portrait de René Descartes (1596-1650) au pinceau et encre brune, lavis brun, rehauts de gouache blanche, sur une esquisse à la pierre noire; le dessin est repassé à la pointe à certains endroits (171x133 mm (inv. no 2001-T.21)

L’indication "Le portrait de Descartes, au lavis de suie" fait par Rembrandt, dans l’inventaire autographe du collectionneur de Delft Valerius Röver (1686-1739) a été pendant longtemps la seule preuve de l’existence de ce dessin. Quand ce portrait du philosophe français a été vendu aux enchères au cours de l’été 2001, une note inscrite au verso a permis de l'identifier comme la feuille de la collection Röver.
Ce dessin présente toutes les caractéristiques d’une esquisse destinée à la gravure. Quelques lignes ont été repassées à la pointe afin de permettre le transfert du dessin sur la planche à graver. Dans l’encadrement architectural, on a également réservé une place en bas pour une inscription. En effet il existe une gravure exécutée à partir de ce dessin. Elle est insérée dans une réédition de la traduction néerlandaise d’un ouvrage de Descartes, Principia Pilosophiae of beginselen der wijsbegeerte (Amsterdam 1690). Malheureusement, l’auteur du projet de cette gravure, qui n'est certainement pas Rembrandt, n’est pas mentionné.


Jean-François Sablet (Morges 1745-1819 Nantes)
un dessin
Pêcheurs dans un paysage italien par temps d’orage au pinceau et encre noire, lavis gris, rehauts de gouache blanche sur papier bleu-gris, signé, 410x540 mm (inv. no 2001-T.25)

Jean-François Sablet part pour Rome en 1791 en compagnie de son frère Jacques. Deux ans plus tard, ils reviennent à Paris en raison des événements en France. Jean-François est surtout connu pour ses portraits, notamment ceux de la bourgeoisie de Nantes, ville où il s’installe en 1805.
Le dessin acquis pour la Collection Frits Lugt date probablement de la période italienne de Sablet, à une époque où il était fortement influencé par le travail de son frère (Le dessin est collé sur une feuille tirée d’un registre portant la date de 1793). Les exemples de ce que Sablet a produit pendant ces années sont plutôt rares. En plus, la qualité de cette feuille est exceptionnelle dans l’oeuvre de l’artiste.

Le dessin enrichit la collection de paysages français de la fin du XVIIIe et du XIXe siècle, constituée par la Fondation Custodia après la mort de Frits Lugt. Il est pourtant différent de l’art du paysage qui se développera plus tard en France. Contrairement aux artistes cherchant à rendre le plus fidèlement possible les atmosphères et le sujet observé, Sablet crée un effet dramatique, auquel même le papier verdâtre contribue.



François (Saint) Bonvin (Parijs 1817-1887 Saint-Germain-en-Laye)
une eau-forte "Les instruments de l'eau-forte" de 1861, 225 x 148 mm (inv. n° 2001-P.20)
 
François Bonvin est surtout connu comme peintre, mais au cours de sa carrière, il lui est arrivé de s’adonner également à l’art de l’eau-forte. Parmi le petit nombre d’oeuvres qu’il a réalisé, on trouve une série de six planches qu’Auguste Delâtre a imprimée en 1861 sous le titre Six eaux-fortes, dessinées et gravées par F. Bonvin, peintre. Dans ces gravures on retrouve les thèmes des tableaux de l’artiste, comme des scènes de genre et des natures mortes. La page de titre achetée par la Fondation Custodia représente des outils de graveur posés sur une table : une feuille de papier, la planche à graver, les flacons d’acide, un entonnoir, le burin, une loupe.

Bonvin a réalisé cette série au moment où l’art de l’eau-forte était à nouveau en pleine expansion en France après une période dominée par la nouvelle technique de la lithographie. Bonvin a laissé à l’éditeur Alfred Cadart (1828-1875) le soin de vendre sa série. Plusieurs graveurs se retrouvaient régulièrement dans cet atelier, comme Antoine Vollon (1833-1900), Théodule Ribot (1823-1891), Adolphe Appian (1818-1898) et Félix Bracquemond (1833-1914). En 1862, Cadart fonde la Société des Acquafortistes afin de promouvoir l’art de l’eau-forte. Bonvin n’a toutefois jamais fait partie de ce club et quand, en 1871, Cadart réédite la série – avec quatre nouvelles planches –, celle-ci paraît dans un folio séparé.

Bibl.: - Henri Béraldi, Les graveurs du XIXe siècle. Guide de l’amateur d’estampes modernes, vol. 2, Paris 1885, p. 164, cat. no 2/1 ou 3/1; Gabriel P. Weisberg, Bonvin, Paris 1979, no 349