Some of the new acquisitions in the year 2002:

A drawing by Christoffer Wilhelm Eckersberg (Blaakrog 1783-1853 Copenhagen) View of a cimetery, in pen and black ink with grey wash, 391 x 303 mm (inv. no. 2002-T.25)

Christoffer Wilhelm Eckersberg was one of the most important painters of Denmark’s ‘Golden Age’. In 1810 he travelled to Paris, where he worked in David’s studio, before moving on to Rome in 1813. He produced this drawing during his time in France. It is not known whether it represents a view of the cemetery of Montmorency near Paris or an idealized composition in which the artist has combined various elements in an imaginative manner. Eckersberg’s style is highly linear and precise.


A drawing by Louis-Jean Desprez (Auxerre 1743-1804 Stockholm) ‘Vue latérale du temple de la Concorde à Agrigente’, in pen and black ink, watercolour, 209 x 342 mm (inv. no. 2001-T.32)

Before Louis-Jean Desprez arrived in Stockholm in 1784 to work as a scenographer and architect, he spent a number of years in Rome. It was there that he was asked by the Abbé de Saint-Non to collaborate on one of the finest books of the 18th century: the Voyage pittoresque ou description des royaumes de Naples et de Sicile (Paris 1781-1786). The treatise on the Temple of Concord in present day Girgenti was illustrated with two engravings designed by Desprez, one of which corresponds to the drawing shown here.

The drawing is probably a coloured repetition of the engraving by Desprez, copied in the same direction and including even the staffage. This is even more obvious when it is compared with the counterpart of the drawing, which was acquired last year and shows the front of the temple (inv. no. 2001-T.31) with the staffage considerately deviating from that found in the illustration published in the Voyage pittoresque.



A watercolour by Aert Schouman (Dordrecht 1710-1792 The Hague) Seleucus hands Stratonice over to the ill Antiochus (after Gerard de Lairesse), from 1773, 259 x 339 mm (inv. no. 2002-T.33)

Since the acquisition by Frits Lugt in 1923 of a group of about hundred watercolours by Aert Schouman, the collection has been particularly well provided with works by this artist. All these drawings depict birds. However, other genres in which the artist was notably productive were not represented until the purchase of this watercolour after a work by Gerard de Lairesse. The newly acquired watercolour must have been executed after a painting now in the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam.

The drawing was once owned by the Dutch collector Cornelis Ploos van Amstel, who was a good friend of Schouman and who possessed 42 of his copies after the old masters. There can be no doubt that these copies not only served to record a specific painting but were also admired as works of art in their own right.



An etching with drypoint by Francis Seymour Haden (London 1818-1910 Woodcote Manor) 'On the Test', from 1859 (Schneiderman 24 vi/viii), signed in pencil, 150 x 223 mm (inv. no. 2002-P.25)

Although originally a surgeon, Francis Seymour Haden played an important role in the British ‘Etching Revival’. This etching shows a view of the River Test in Hampshire. Several states exist, all very different to each other. On the first (proof) states for instance, the sheep on the right were absent. This is the sixth state, on which Seymour Haden further elaborated the trees on the far side of the river with a drypoint, making them much darker and more impressive than in the first states.

Haden also collected and studied etchings by Rembrandt, which is probably why Frits Lugt started collecting his etchings. Since the death of Lugt in 1970 an increasing number of works by other members of the British Etching Revival have equally been acquired.



An engraving by Johann Martin Preißler (Neurenberg 1715-1794 Copenhagen) The equestrian statue of Frederic v by Jacques Saly, from 1768-1769, ca. 870 x 440 mm (inv. no. 2002-P.1)

Over the years the Fondation Custodia has acquired a selection of drawings from the Danish Guldalder that may now be the most important ensemble outside Denmark and which, on occasion, is supplemented by prints. One special example is provided by this large engraving of the equestrian statue of Frederic V, King of Denmark and Norway (reigned 1756-1766), which adorns Amalienborg Square in Copenhagen since 1768. The print was made by Johann Martin Preißler, an engraver originally from Germany; the statue is by the French sculptor Jacques Saly (1717-1776).

The print was acquired in a Louis XVI frame which might be the original one. Other impressions of the print in comparable frames are known, and these may have been intended as special gifts. We know, for instance, that in early 1770 Saly sent ‘une estampe encadrée, de la statue équestre du feu Roy de Dannemarck, qu’il a exécutée en bronze’ to the Paris Academy.

Une sélection des nouvelles acquisitions de l'année 2002:

De Christoffer Wilhelm Eckersberg (Blaakrog 1783-1853 Copenhague) un dessin Vue d'un cimetière, à la plume et encre noire, lavis gris, 391 x 303 mm (inv. 2002-T.25)

Christoffer Wilhelm Eckersberg est l’un des peintres les plus importants de ce que l’on appelle le Siècle d’Or danois. Il s’installa à Paris en 1810 afin de parfaire ses études dans l’atelier de Jacques-Louis David. Trois ans plus tard, en 1813, il poursuivit son voyage jusqu’à Rome. Ce dessin date de son séjour en France. Il est difficile d’établir s’il s’agit d’une vue du cimetière de Montmorency près de Paris ou d’une composition imaginaire composée d’éléments empruntés à la réalité. Le style de Eckersberg est linéaire et très minutieux.


De Louis-Jean Desprez (Auxerre 1743-1804 Stockholm) un dessin ‘Vue latérale du temple de la Concorde à Agrigente’, à la plume et encre noire, aquarelle, 209 x 342 mm (inv. 2001-T.32)

Avant de s’installer comme scénographe et architecte à Stockholm en 1784, Louis-Jean Desprez passa plusieurs années à Rome. C’est là que l’abbé de Saint-Non lui avait demandé de participer à l’élaboration d’un des plus beaux livres du XVIIIe siècle : le Voyage pittoresque ou description des royaumes de Naples et de Sicile (Paris 1781-1786). La description du temple de la Concorde à l'acuel Girgenti y est illustré par deux gravures d’après des dessins de Desprez dont l’une correspond au dessin que nous présentons ici.

Ce dessin est sans doute une reprise aquarellée de Desprez. On y retrouve la composition de la gravure, et même les personnages. Ceci est encore plus évident si on regarde le pendant de ce dessin, mais dont les personnages diffèrent de ceux de la gravure correspondante, acquis l’année dernière et représentant le temple de face (inv. n° 2001-T.31)
.


De Aert Schouman (Dordrecht 1710-1792 La Haye) une aquarelle Séleucos cède Stratonice à Antiochos (d'après Gerard de Lairesse), 1773, 259 x 339 mm (inv. 2002-T.33)

Depuis 1923 la collection comprend une centaine d’aquarelles d’Aert Schouman. Toutes représentent des oiseaux. Les autres genres dans lesquels l’artiste a excellés,n’étaient pas représentés jusqu’à l’acquisition de cette aquarelle réalisée d’après une œuvre de Gerard de Lairesse. Elle a été peinte d’après le tableau actuellement au Rijksmuseum d’Amsterdam.

Cette aquarelle a appartenu au collectionneur néerlandais Cornelis Ploos van Amstel, un bon ami de Schouman. Il possédait 42 copies de l’artiste d’après des maîtres anciens. Reproductions d'œuvres admirées, ces copies étaient très puisées et furent également admirées pour leur propre valeur artistique
.


De Francis Seymour Haden (Londres 1818-1910 Woodcote Manor) une eau-forte avec pointe sèche 'On the Test' de 1859 (Schneiderman 24 vi/viii), signée au crayon, 150 x 223 mm (inv. 2002-P.25)

Bien que chirurgien de formation, Francis Seymour Haden a joué un rôle important dans le renouveau de l’eau-forte (Etching Revival) en Grande-Bretagne. L'eau-forte présentée ici représente une vue de la rivière Test (Hampshire). Il existe plusieurs états de cette eau-forte qui sont tous très différents. Sur les premiers états par exemple, les moutons de droite n’apparaissent pas encore. Dans ce sixième état Seymour Haden a travaillé à la pointe sèche les arbres situés sur l'autre rive du fleuve ; ils sont beaucoup plus sombres et plus impressionnants que sur les états précédents.

Frits Lugt a sans doute commencé à s’intéresser aux eaux-fortes de Haden parce que celui-ci collectionnait et étudiait des gravures de Rembrandt. Depuis la disparition de Frits Lugt en 1970, la Fondation Custodia collectionne également des œuvres d’autres artistes de l’Etching Revival.



De Johann Martin Preißler (Nuremberg 1715-1794 Copenhague) un burin : La statue équestre de Frédéric v par Jacques Saly, 1768-1769, vers 870 x 440 mm (inv. 2002-P.1)

Au fil des ans, la Collection Frits Lugt a réuni tout un ensemble important de dessins du Guldalder danois. Actuellement, c’est peut-être même le plus important hors du Danemark. A l’occasion, nous élargissons cette collection par l’acquisition de gravures comme ce grand burin représentant la statue équestre de Frédéric v, roi du Danemark et de Norvège, qui a régné de 1746-1766. Cette statue orne la place Amalienborg à Copenhague depuis 1768. La gravure a été réalisée par Johann Martin Preißler, un graveur d’origine allemande ; la statue est l’œuvre du sculpteur français Jacques Saly (1717-1776).

La gravure fut acquise dans un cadre de style Louis XVI qui est peut-être d’origine. Il existe d’autres tirages de cette gravure dans des cadres similaires. Il s’agissait probablement de présents officiels. On sait par exemple qu’au début de 1770, le sculpteur Saly envoya à l’Académie de Paris « une estampe encadrée, de la statue équestre du feu Roy de Dannemarck, qu’il a exécutée en bronze »
.